Board of Supervisors Minutes
December 28, 2020

The Tama County Board of Supervisors will meet via Zoom due to the COVID-19 crisis and the fact that the Administration Building is locked to the public without an appointment, all future meetings will be held this way until further notice. For the Zoom information or if you have something you want to put on the agenda for consideration, please call or email the Auditor’s office:  641-484-2740  

At 9:00 Supervisor Larry Vest swore in the incoming elected officials for 2021.  They included:
Supervisor District 2, Bill Faircloth; Supervisor District 3, Dan Anderson; County Auditor, Laura Kopsa and Sheriff, Dennis Kucera.  These terms will be effective January 1, 2021.

The Tama County Board of Supervisors met at 9:30 a.m. December 28, 2020.  Present:  1st District Supervisor, Larry Vest; 2nd District Supervisor, Kendall Jordan and 3rd District Supervisor, Dan Anderson.

Motion by Jordan, seconded by Vest to approve the minutes of the December 21st regular meeting.   All voted aye.  Motion carried

The Board met with Lyle Brehm, Tama County Engineer, to get a road projects report.   He presented an Agreement for a Surface Transportation Block Grant Program Federal-aid Swap Project STBG-SWAP-CO86(105)—FG-86 for the Board’s approval.  Motion by Vest, seconded by Jordan to approve the Agreement for Project # STBG-SWAP-CO86(105)—FG-86.  All voted aye.  Motion carried.

Tammy Wise, HR/Insurance Administrator, was present to ask the Board to extend the County’s Infectious Disease Plan through January 31, 2021.  The current one expires December 31, 2020.  The plan allows for time off for employees with COVID-19 or exposure to COVID-19.  Motion by Jordan, seconded by Vest to extend the Tama County Infectious Disease Plan through January 31, 2021.  All voted aye.  Motion carried.

Access Assault Care Center was present via Zoom to go over how ACCESS served Tama County in the last year and their hopes for next year including funding from the County.  No action taken.

Mindy Benson, EMA Director, visited with the Board about getting a credit card for her department.  Previously, the 911/EMA department were one and had a credit card.  The two departments have now split up and she would like one for her department.  It is through the State Bank of Toledo and requires approval and the signatures of the Board of Supervisors.  The Supervisors advised her to get approval from her EMA Board first and then they would approve and sign the paperwork required. 

The Board wishes to acknowledge and thank the following employees for their years of service to the County:
5 Years:  Jeremy Cremeans, 911, Todd Apfel, Sanitarian/Zoning, Brandee Ferneau, Roads, Carlyssa Heller, Roads, Derek Kulhavy, Roads, Landon Read, Roads, David Sherwood, Landfill, Penny Tyynismaa, Public Health.
10 years:  Lucas Dvorak, Sheriff, Christine Kriegel, Janitor, Terry Purvis, Roads, Wesley Ray, Assessor. 
15 years:  Gina Hoskey, Public Health.
20 years:  Lyle Brehm, Engineer, Brenda Bridges, Public Health, Trevor Killian, Deputy Sheriff, Curt Kriegel, Roads, Ann Princehouse, Treasurer, Michele Taylor, EMA, Craig Wise, Conservation, Tamara Wise, Human Resources/Ins. Administrator.
25 years:  Larry Vest, District 1 Supervisor.
30 years:  Randie Brodigan, Roads, Daniel Vesely, Roads.

Motion by Vest, seconded by Jordan to approve the claims for payment as presented.  All voted aye.  Motion carried.

Chairman Anderson adjourned the meeting at 9:57 a.m.


Laura Kopsa
Tama County Auditor
104 West State Street
P.O. Box 61
Toledo, IA  52342
Ph 641-484-2740
Fax 641-484-5127